Poppin’ Piglets

Sally gave birth sometime during the night.  We don’t know when.  Eric and I managed to feed and water the two females without noticing the small pile of peach-colored, peach-fuzzed piglets squirming in one corner of the barn.  Dan discovered the pile right after we returned from feeding the rest of the pigs out in the woods.  Sally had given birth to 10 piglets, all healthy and alive.  Eric and I had strung up extension cords the day before for heat lamps in case one of the pigs gave birth.  We began setting up the lamps, but for some reason, our presence irked the new mother and she refused to nurse her babies.  The four of us returned to the house with plans to check on the piglets every 45 minutes…

DSC_0037

I went out to check on the piglets and get a read on the temperature of the nest.  Sally and Poppy were resting near the middle of the barn, away from the squealing, hungry pile of baby pigs.  I began setting up the thermometer when I noticed that one venturesome piglet was stumbling toward its snoozing mother.  I kept an eye on it while I worked to make sure it arrived at its destination safely.  The brave little pig crawled up between the two adults—irritated, Sally and Poppy began to rise, sandwiching the piglet between them.  It began squealing sharply.  I ran over to try and pull the two pigs apart and save the piglet.  As I forced myself between the two females, the expression on the tiny piglet’s face resembled this:

DSC_0266

DSC_0089

The piglet dropped onto the hay, shocked, but alive.  I looked over to see more piglets making their way towards us.  Poppy lied down again while Sally wandered around pawing at hay.  The piglets crowded around their mother’s sister and began futilely sucking at her engorged nipples (she was still pregnant).  Eventually, Sally lied down next to Poppy.  With a little help, the piglets slowly reversed direction, realizing from whom nourishment was emanating.  I rearranged the babies to make sure all 10 were securely fastened to nipples, and then ran to the house to retrieve Maggie and Eric.

DSC_0182

4 thoughts on “Poppin’ Piglets

Leave a comment